Find out about
Presidents of the United States
►For an introduction to this subject:
World Book
Library Access|Remote Access with Mt. Lebanon Library Card
►Books
Books on this topic are shelved under these call numbers:
j 923.173 (collective biographies)
j 92 last name of the president (individual biographies)
j 353 (government)
Selected titles:
j 923.173 Stg If the Walls could Talk: Family Life at the White House /
Jane O’Connor
j 923.173 Oco Scholastic Encyclopedia of the Presidents and their Times Lives of the Presidents / Kathleen Krull
j 923.173 Kru
If I were President / Catherine Stier
j 353 Sti The U. S. Presidency / Muriel L. Dubois
j 353 Dub
Eyewitness presidents / James G. Barber
j 923.173 Bar
j 324.973 Mor
j 92
Reference Books:
(these cannot be checked out, but you may make copies)
- World Book Encyclopedia (rj 031 Wor)
- Facts about the Presidents / Joseph Kane (rj 923.173 Kan)
- The Young Oxford Companion to
the Presidency of the United States / Richard M. Pious
(rj 353 Pio)
►Search the Catalog
Use these Keywords:
Presidents United States
Presidents’ spouses United States
Presidency
Executive branch
United States Politics and Government
►Online Resources
White House for Kids
http://www.whitehouse.gov/kids/
Explore DC: Gateway to America’s Captial
http://www.exploredc.org/
The American Presidency
http://americanhistory.si.edu/presidency/home.html
The American President
http://www.americanpresident.org/history/h_home.shtml
The National Portrait Gallery Hall of Presidents
http://www.npg.si.edu/exh/hall2/index.htm
Library Databases
These online resources contain a wealth of material including images; encyclopedia, magazine, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; maps; the World Almanac; biographical information.
►Magazines/Newspapers
Magazines at the library:
Cobblestone
Kids Discover
Time for Kids
Online magazine/newspaper articles:
Kids Search (K-8)
All-in-one search tool to find magazine and newspaper articles, dictionary and encyclopedia entries, and images on a wide variety of topics.
Library Access| Remote Access
SIRS Discoverer
Full-text articles and graphics from newspapers, magazines and government documents for elementary and middle school students. Also searchable web sites, biographies, country facts, pictures, maps, current events, activities, the Encyclopedia Britannica, and the World Almanac for Kids.
Library Access | Remote Access
►Videos/DVDs
A history of the presidency (j VC 353 Ame )
So you want to be president ( j VC 923.173 Stg )
Election Collection (Schoolhouse Rock) (j DVD Schoolhouse)
George Washington: first president (j DVD 92W WASHINGTON Ven)
John Adams: second president (j DVD 92A ADAMS Ven)
The Children's Library
Mt. Lebanon Public Library
16 Castle Shannon Blvd.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15228
412.531.1913
www.mtlebanonlibrary.org/kids
1/2010
Catalog Search
Search the Web Menu
