Award-Winning Books

Batchelder Award
The Mildred L. Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.

Belpré Award
The Pura Belpré Award is presented annually to a Latino / Latina author and illustrator whose work portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Boston Globe – Horn Book Award
The Boston Globe - Horn Book Award is awarded yearly for excellence in literature in three categories:
  • Picture book
  • Fiction and poetry
  • Nonfiction
Caldecott Medal
The Randolph Caldecott Medal is awarded yearly to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Carnegie Medal
The Andrew Carnegie Medal honors the most outstanding video productions for children.

Carolyn Field Award
The Carolyn Field Award is awarded yearly to a Pennsylvania author or illustrator by the Pennsylvania Library Association.

Children’s Notable Lists
Notable books, recordings, videos, computer software, and websites are selected by the American Library Association’s Association for Library Service to Children for the Notable Children's List.

Coretta Scott King Award
The Coretta Scott King Award is awarded yearly to an African-American author and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions to children’s literature.

Database of Award-Winning Children’s Literature
The Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature is a large searchable database of award winning books.

Geisel Award
The Theodore Seuss Geisel Award is presented to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers.

Hans Christian Andersen Award
The Hans Christian Anderson Award is awarded every other year by the International Board on Books for Young People to a living  author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature.

National Book Award
The National Book Award is awarded annually to an exceptional book by an American author.

Newbery Medal
The John Newbery Medal is awarded yearly to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Odyssey Award
The Odyssey Award is given annually for the best audiobook for children and young adults.

Sibert Medal
The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually for the most distinguished informational book for youth.

Sydney Taylor Book Award
The Sydney Taylor Book Award is awarded yearly to the best in Jewish literature for children by the Association of Jewish Libraries.

Wilder Award
The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honors an author or illustrators whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to children’s literature.